Understanding the Heart Chakra


When someone has a balanced heart chakra, they often show qualities of compassion, love, and empathy. Their ability to remain peaceful and balanced while developing self-love is evident. Forming balanced peer and family relationships, while developing a social identity early in life, will help you cultivate the “Right to love and be loved”.

However, energetic blockages, located in the heart area can result in the demon of grief. The energy of the Heart Chakra becomes blocked mostly through grief, loss, betrayal and hate. Most often, this occurs at the end of a painful relationship or the loss of a loved one. Where at the time it literally felt like our hearts were breaking. It can also become blocked through anger, resentment and envy, as well as, tuning out of or turning away from our emotions, because they were too painful to deal with.

An unbalanced heart chakra can manifest as codependency and possessiveness to circulation problems, asthma, burn out, and disorders of the heart, lungs, breasts, thymus, and arms.

Exploring one’s social identity and asking the question, ‘Am I Balanced in Love, Compassion, and Forgiveness?’ is the first step in tapping into the heart chakra.

Other healing techniques include the following:

  • Breathing techniques
  • Crystal Therapy
  • Reiki
  • Yin/Restorative Yoga
  • Journaling
  • Guided Meditation

Connecting to the mind through guided meditation while focusing on the emotional release of grief can also  help to open and balance the heart chakra. When we examine our assumptions about peer and family relationships through journaling , we engage and connect the heart space with the spirit. You are worthy of love! Balance is the key.

“Participate in your own healing!”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: